Transferring Prep Recipes

Transferring Prep Recipes

Transfers update pricing for the transferred inventory item.

If you are transferring a prep recipe between units, there are 3 conditions:

1. It exists already as a prep recipe in the receiving unit – then we do not update the cost and we do NOT create an inventory item for it since it exists as a prep recipe.

We do not update the cost because if you now have a prep recipe that already exists and you recost a recipe using it then you are using the price for the ingredients you have in the receiving unit, not the price of the ingredients you had in the sending unit.

2. Item does not exist already as a prep recipe or an inventory item – then we do create a new inventory item for this and will continue to update the price on each transfer

3. It already exists as an inventory item, then we will update prices upon transfer.